home   about the composer    works   purchase      commission a work          contact     
choir with instruments
choir with orchestra
choir with wind symphony
children's chorus
service music
mixed ensembles


Gounod's "What Grief Can Try Me?"

Sacred duet for two high voices with orchestra; arr. 2012

view score - listen (performance)

By Charles Gounod, 1818-1893; original piano accompaniment arranged for orchestra by J. Bruce Ashton; 2012.

For vocal parts with piano accompaniment, please see "Sacred Duets, Volume 1 for Two High Voices" edited by William Shakespeare and published by Theodore Presser Company. This music is available on line from several companies.


What grief can try me, O Lord?
My heart is Thine alone.
My will is lost in Thine and follows blindly,
And every thought is Thine own,

All around I see, and high above me
Thy wondrous works of Love
Which every doubt remove
And so, I love Thee.

Orchestra score and parts - $45.00
Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B-flat (or A), bassoon, 4 horns (tuba in place of fourth horn) timpani, triangle, strings
<< return to listings